Midlands rugby union league structured confirmed for 2015/16

Rugby Union season preview.
Rugby Union season preview.
Share this article

The Midlands rugby league structure for the 2015/16 season has been confirmed.

The only new team joining the league this year will be Wellingborough Old Grammarians who will play alongside Bourne, Stamford College Old Boys and Deepings in as members of Midlands Four East (South).

The Northamptonshire club dropped out of the leagues two years ago but have successfully regrouped playing Merit Table rugby and have now been included in the Midlands Leagues structure for 2015/16.

There are no other new or returning clubs in the Midlands Leagues structure but Birmingham Barbarians, who finished bottom of Midlands Five West (North) have decided to drop out of the league and join the Staffordshire Merit Table.

Newbold on Avon and Old Laurentians, both promoted from Midlands Two West (South) this season have been level transferred and will compete in Midlands One East next season.

Old Yardleians have also been level-transferred from Midlands Two West (South) to Midlands Two West (North) and Melton Mowbray, who were promoted as champions of Midlands Three East (North) will compete in Midlands Two East (North).

Midlands Leagues 2015/16

National Three Midlands: Birmingham & Solihull, Bromsgrove, Hinckley, Lichfield, Longton, Newport, Nuneaton, Old Halesonians, Old Northamptonians, Peterborough Lions, Sandbach, Scunthorpe, Sutton Coldfield, Syston.

Midlands One West: Bournville, Bridgnorth, Burton, Crewe & Nantwich, Dudley Kingswinford, Hereford, Kenilworth, Leek, Silhillians, Stoke, Stratford, Walsall, Whitchurch, Worcester Wanderers.

Midlands One East: Bedford Athletic, Bugbrooke, Derby, Huntingdon & District, Ilkeston, Kettering, Market Rasen & Louth, Matlock, Newark, Newbold on Avon, Northampton Old Scouts, Old Laurentians, Paviors, Wellingborough.

Midlands Two West (North): Camp Hill, Handsworth, Harborne, Kidderminster Carolians, Moseley Oak, Old Saltleians, Old Yardleians, Shrewsbury, Stafford, Stourbridge Lions, Veseyans, Wolverhampton.

Midlands Two West (South): Banbury, Barkers’ Butts, Bedworth, Berkswell & Balsall, Droitwich, Dunlop, Earlsdon, Leamington, Malvern, Nuneaton OE, Pinley, Spartans.

Midlands Two East (North): Ashbourne, Bakewell Mannerians, Coalville, Dronfield, Mansfield, Market Bosworth, Melbourne, Nottingham Casuals, Southwell, Spalding, Stamford, West Bridgford.

Midlands Two East (South): Belgrave, Biggleswade, Leicester Forest, Lutterworth, Market Harborough, Melton Mowbray, Oadby Wyggestonians, Oakham, Olney, Peterborough, Rushden & Higham, Vipers.

Midlands Three West (North): Bloxwich, Burntwood, Cannock, Clee Hill, Cleobury Mortimer, Eccleshall, Edwardians, Ludlow, Newcastle, Tamworth, Wednesbury, Willenhall.

Midlands Three West (South): Cheltenham North, Evesham, Harbury, Ledbury, Old Coventrians, Old Leamingtonians, Old Wheatleyans, Pershore, Rugby Lions, Shipston on Stour, Southam, Woodrush.

Midlands Three East (North): Ashby, Ashfield, Aylestone St James, Belper, Boston, Chesterfield Panthers, Grimsby, Kesteven, Lincoln, Loughborough, Nottingham Moderns, Sleaford.

Midlands Three East (South): Daventry, Dunstablians, Long Buckby, Northampton BBOB, Northampton Casuals, Old Newtonians, Oundle, Rugby St Andrews, St Ives, St Neots, Stewarts & Lloyds, Stockwood Park.

Midlands Four West (North): Aldridge, Aston OE, Barton under Needwood, Bishops Castle & OV, Bromyard, Church Stretton, Market Drayton, Rugeley, Telford Hornets, Uttoxeter, Yardley & District.

Midlands Four West (South): Alcester, Atherstone, Birmingham CS, Claverdon, Coventrians, Coventry Welsh, Kings Norton, Manor Park, Redditch, Stoke OB, Upton on Severn.

Midlands Four East (North): Amber Valley, Bingham, Buxton, Cleethorpes, East Retford, Long Eaton, Mellish, North Hyekham, Rolls Royce, Tupton, Worksop.

Midlands Four East (South): Bedford Swifts, Birstall, Bourne, Brackley, Deepings, Northampton Mens Own, Queens, Sileby Town, Stamford College OB, Thorney, Wellingborough OG.

Midlands Five West (North): Chaddesley Corbett, Essington, Greyhound, St Leonards, Stourport on Severn, Tenbury Wells, Warley.

Midlands Five West (South): Birmingham Exiles, Copsewood, Five Ways OE, Keresley, Rugby Welsh, Trinity Guild, Wellesbourne.

Midlands Five East (North): Barton & District, Creswell Crusaders, Gainsborough, Keyworth, Meden Vale, Nottinghamians, Ollerton, Skegness, Woodhouse Giants.